Saucepan Kisses

**Warning: I am not responsible for you becoming addicted to whippin’ these babies up when you need something sweet**

I don’t even know where this recipe came from. My Mom and Grandma have been making them forever. We’ve changed different ingredients over the years, but the base of it has stayed the same. A no bake treat thats easy to make. So easy, if fact, that a certain Grandma I know might have told me “They’re bad”. Why I asked? “Because you know how easy they are to make that you end up cooking them and eating them out of the pan with a spoon.”.

I love that woman. I also know where I get my sweet tooth from.

I almost like them more once they’ve dried out a little bit. Don’t get me wrong, still warm and gooey also blows my hair back.

You’re going to have lots of choices for each ingredient here. For example, instead of butter, you can use coconut oil or olive oil. It makes them easily adaptable to allergies as well as what you have in your house!

I used to like quick oats in these. One day I was ordering quick oats from our organic food co-op and the guy said, “You don’t want to know what they do to quick oats”. So I decided I didn’t want to find out what they did and switched to old fashioned thick rolled oats. I like them much better than quick oats now!

Saucepan Kisses

Makes 40. Scratch that. Makes 37, ’cause you’re going to eat a bit before it gets to the tray.

2 c organic sugar or 1 c honey

1/2 c milk. (Cow, goat, coconut or almond)

1/2 c butter. (Coconut oil or olive oil)

1/2 tsp sea salt (If using an unsalted butter or oil add another 1/4 tsp)

1 tsp vanilla

3 c old fashioned rolled oats

1/2 c raw cacao (a superfood versus it’s stripped cousin cocoa. Use cocoa if thats all you have as they’ll still taste good, but the raw cacao gives it a superfood boost)

1 c unsweetened coconut. (You can use those huge flakes or just regular size)

Bring Sugar, milk, butter and sea salt to a boil for 5 minutes stirring a few times. Remove from heat and add remaining ingredients. Using a 1 or 2 tablespoon portion scoop, scoop out onto a parchment, wax paper or butcher paper lined baking sheet or tray. Alternatively, use two teaspoons to scoop and scrape off.

Leave a Reply

