Upscale Brownie Pudding

This ain’t the Brownie Pudding from my childhood. I made too many changes to call it the same recipe anymore!

Fresh Ground Flour, Coconut Oil, Organic Low Processed Sugar and Raw Cacao all replace the white flour, shortening, white sugar and cocoa the recipe originally came with. I’m happy to report it’s even more tasty, just as simply to throw together and heck, I’d go as far as calling it a decent snack, not just dessert 😉

(Says she who’s eating it for mid morning snack while blogging…)

brownie pudding.jpg

I made the mistake of waiting til dessert to take pictures of dessert…should have done so way earlier as to have more natural light! I’m thankful for friends who didn’t find it weird for me to suggest we do dinner, and to do it at their house, that I would bring all of dinner, and then I took pictures of everything we ate. Marius was working at their house, and being full time farmers, this time of year is super busy for them, hence why I said lets do you house and I’ll bring the food.

I don’t get the science of this recipe. If you do, please explain it to me. Then again, maybe I don’t want to know, because the magic of spreading batter in the pan, topping it with cacao/sugar, pouring boiling water overtop and ending up with a baked cake on top and pudding on the bottom? It’s magic. Pure magic.

Serve it with ice cream. Serve it for breakfast. Serve it to company. Make it for a family lunch. Just make it. Dress it up or eat it from the pan.

Brownie Pudding

DRY

1 c minus 2 tbsp fresh ground whole wheat. (Sub whole wheat flour)

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 c brown sugar (preferably something organic, low processed, or at minimum cane sugar)

1/4 c cacao or high quality cocoa

1/2 tsp salt

______________________________

WET

1/2 c buttermilk (sub scant 1/2 c milk)

1 tsp vanilla

2 tbsp melted coconut oil or butter. (All my butter was frozen, easier to scoop a quick bit of coconut oil)

1/2 c walnuts (optional)

_______________________________

1 1/2 c brown sugar (see above)

1/2 c cacao or high quality cocoa

_______________________________

3 1/2 c boiling water

Preheat oven to 350F

Method: Mix dry ingredients in a bowl. Mix in wet ingredients. Spread into greased minimum 2 quart dish. My pyrex 7″x11″ fits the bill. If you don’t know what size your pan is, fill up two quart jars of water and pour them in. Place dish on a sturdy cookie sheet/jellyroll pan.

Mix together brown sugar and cacao, evenly sprinkle over batter. Pour boiling water over top.

Bake for 50-60 minutes, until toothpick comes out clean. Let cool for about 30 minutes, until pudding thickens up and it’s not scorching hot. Serve warm or cold.

IMG_7094

Leave a Reply

